RSS

An Unexpected Gift

22 Jun

  Okay, so let me set the stage.  For those of you who don’t already know, I sing in the praise band at my church.  Well our leaders Lloyd and Christina Shockley were out of town today.  We knew that in advance and those of us who were still going to be at church this morning practiced for Sunday last Wednesday night.  This is what we do every week.  Nothing new.  Well we talked Abby Puckett into singing with us.  For those of you who do not know Abby she goes to Easley High school and is a very talented musician.  She sings, plays the guitar, the flute and she writes songs (all of which are glorifying to the Lord).  Her father Mike plays the guitar for our praise team.  Well during practice we agreed that Abby and Mike would play a song that she wrote from Ephesians for the offering today. 

  So here we are today.  I almost did not go to church this morning because I had gotten a bad sunburn on Wednesday and have been pretty miserable and I just wanted to sleep.  However, I got up, got ready and amazingly I started to feel better.  We went to church and warmed up and practiced during Sunday school like normal.  We get up and sing the first song “In Christ Alone” and the hymn “It is well with My Soul” and then prayed for the offering and then it was time for Abby, Mike and Jeff to do Abby’s Ephesians song.  Well, to my surprise Jeff sat down and I thought to myself, well he taught Sunday school and did not practice with them this morning, so maybe he decided he was not ready to play the song with them.  So Chris and I sit down and Mike and Abby start searching for music, which again was odd to me because Abby knows her song by heart, but I thought maybe she is nervous and needs the words in front of her.  Then Abby says, “My dad and I were inspired to write a song and dedicate it to the Folks.”  I was in shock.  I knew nothing about this!  I looked at Chris for and explanation and he just looked at me and said, “It is a new song” and was smiling from ear to ear.  Well unfortunately we do not record the music portion of our service, so I do not have it recorded, but it is an absolutely beautiful, appropriate, like they went into my heart and spoke the words that were there even though I did not know how to even express them to the Lord.  They spoke them for us and beautifully to the Lord and our church.  I cried the entire song.  Here are the words…

LET’S RUN (dedicated to the Folks), Written by Abby Puckett

What’s my mission…Lord please tell me…Cause to tell you the truth…it terrifies me.  I’ve put my faith in you…to keep me strong.  Lead my family…to where we belong…But how do I know…it will be safe…What about my little girls…and my little boy…What about the life and love we’re leaving…behind…all our faith is in You!

Let your will be done…I will follow the Sun…Let your will be done…I’m your feet, Let’s run.

Lord guide the way…shine a light onto the world…be a lamp unto my feet…and a light unto my path…guide us through each day…give us the words to say…to share Your Word through Your LOVE.

Let your will be done…I will follow the Sun…Let your will be done…I’m Your feet…I’m Your feet…Let’s Run…

Instrumental…humming…

Let Your will be done…I will follow Your Son!  Let Your will be done…I’m Your feet……………..Let’s Run (repeat)

  Isn’t that amazing!  I do not think that there was a dry eye in the church.  They wrote that song just this past Friday!!!!  It was beautiful.  It really is amazing to me that they could speak for us in such a perfect, profound way.  It was such an unexpected gift to us.  We will cherish it forever!  I hope to get a recording of it and find a way to play it on our blog.  The Puckett’s are a special family to us with an amazing testimony of God’s saving grace.  Abby has such a bright future ahead of her.  I cannot wait to see how the Lord uses her as she continues to grow into a beautiful young woman who truly loves the Lord.  And to all of you who knew about this gift and kept it a secret THANK YOU because it was so special.  The hard part was getting up to sing the next song…I sort of sung the song…I cried a lot…but our Lord is just so good…His love is so special to us…we feel it in our church family and friends…how could we not sacrifice this passing life here in America and tell people through out this world…living Costa Rica and spreading this love…His love…His grace…His forgiveness…HIS UNEXPECTED AND ULTIMATE GIFT…THANK YOU MIKE and ABBY!!!!!!!   

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “An Unexpected Gift

  1. Greg Gibson

    June 23, 2008 at 12:02 am

    It truly was a beautful song writen for a beautful family…I am thankful to be part of this family of God…Greg

     
  2. mike

    June 23, 2008 at 12:33 am

    I thank God for the heart that he has given to you for your faithfulness to his word.My family loves your family and pray for your obedience without question.Your strenth is in christ and i pray that he is the light who guides your feet.I thank Jesus for giving me the chance to know you and your family.love mike

     

Leave a Reply

 
