RSS

Memoria, Memoria, Memoria

23 Sep

This learning Spanish thing is very time consuming.  It takes a lot of memoria (or memory) to keep up with what is what.  Basically we just have to sit down each night and work on memorizing the information that we have been taught.  So tomorrow I have a test on 50 verbs that I have to know.  It takes a lot of time to memorize that many verbs.  One of the verbs that, as of last night, I was struggling to memorize was “llorar” or in English it is “to cry.”  No matter what I did I could not remember the verb.  I would look at the picture and my mind would go blank.  I knew that it was similar to “llover” or “to rain.”  But that was all I could remember.  Well yesterday a classmate said that word is similar to “orar.”   It did not hit me then what he meant because I did not remember the word, so I just let it slide.  Then last night as I was working on my verbs I noticed what my friend was talking about.  “Llorar” or “to cry” is similar to the verb “orar” or “to pray.”   How beautiful is that?  To cry out to our God in song, praise, pain, love…is to pray to Him or to talk to him; “llorar” and “orar” are similar in sound and in meaning to the Christian.   So last night I cried out in prayer to our Heavenly Father about our ability to learn Spanish.  I cried out that He would make it stick in my head and flow off of my tongue.  All for His glory that we learn this language and take the message of GRACE or GRACIA to the people on Volcano Irazu.  And amazingly today I had such a great day of recall.  My teachers would say a word and I would remember the meaning!  It was so exciting.  It also brought a huge amount of peace to me.  I know that I am not learning Spanish and living in Costa Rica for my own gain, but for that glorious day when we will all be praising the Lord in Heaven and every language.  There are people here that need to know about God’s grace and Jesus’ finished work on the cross.  We are learning Spanish so that we can take that message to the people in their own language and love them.  All for God’s glory. 

Filipenses 2:9-11

9 Por eso Dios lo exaltó hasta lo sumo
      y le otorgó el nombre
      que está sobre todo nombre,
10 para que ante el nombre de Jesús
      se doble toda rodilla
   en el cielo y en la tierra
      y debajo de la tierra,
11 y toda lengua confiese que Jesucristo es el Señor,
      para gloria de Dios Padre.

Philippians 2:9-11 

  9For this reason also, God highly exalted Him, and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name,  10so that at the name of Jesus EVERY KNEE WILL BOW, of those who are in heaven and on earth and under the earth,  11and that every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.
Won’t that be a glorious day?  Please continue to keep us in your prayers as we work hard to learn Spanish. 
 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Memoria, Memoria, Memoria

  1. michael

    September 24, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    thank you for the encouragement found here.

     
  2. Tashia

    September 24, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Courtenay-

    I love you but most of all I love what our God is doing in you.

     
  3. Tara Burnette

    September 25, 2008 at 9:10 am

    HEY FOLKS!!!!!! I finally got around to your blog and read every single post. It sounds amazing in Costa Rica. Your family looks great in the photos and everyone seems to be happy and healthy. We miss you so much!!!!!! God Bless, Tara

     
  4. Kim

    September 25, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Hola todos!

    I love to read about all the exciting things the Lord has you doing for Him. It is always fun to see a new addition to your blog and I especially love to see the pictures of your adventures. Your words bring tears (of happiness) to my eyes and everyone looks so well. Dios los bendiga!

    Abrazos y besas!
    Kim

     

Leave a Reply

 
