RSS

Last night we had an earthquake…

19 Nov

and guess what!  We slept through the whole thing.  First thing this morning at school someone said to me, “Did you feel the earthquake last night?”  And I thought he was kidding.  We woke up when the door slammed shut, but we thought the wind had blown it shut, so we went right back to sleep.  We went went through orientation they taught us what to do if an earthquake were to happen and I had kind of hoped to feel an earthquake since then.  And last night it happened and I slept through it.  I am so bummed.  Apparently the epicenter was on the Panama/Costa Rica boarder and it was a 6.3 earthquake.  Friends accounted left and right at school today that they felt the quake for about 10 seconds.  But not at the Folk house.  We slept through the whole thing except for the end when I guess it slammed our bedroom door closed.  We missed all the excitement.  However, after classes started and we began to discuss complemento indirecto and complemento directo all was forgotten.  And by our lunch break no one was discussing it anymore, just memorizing more vocabulary.  According to the news reports there was not significant damage.  Gracias a Dios.  Just another day in Costa Rica.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Last night we had an earthquake…

  1. Kim

    November 21, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    I remember those “sneaky” earthquakes while living down there. We would hear things fall off the walls in the middle of the night. The next day we might find a new crack in the building. You are living in “earthquake central” and I’m sure you will get to feel a few…but I pray they will all be minor.
    Dios los bendiga!

     
  2. Cheryl

    November 24, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I left Alaska because of those earthquakes – they scared me to death – made me sick to my stomach everytine we had one! And the big one when I was on the 18th floor of a glass buidling was awful – I really didn’t think I was going to live through it – I moved back to Charleston shortly after that! Adios! (Is that how you spell it?)

     
  3. Janet Smith-God speed you on your wayand Bless you always

    November 29, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Well- I’ve been away at our mini-thanksgiving at my son’s in Greensboro. I remember when we had a small one in Kershaw. Scott Croxton thought one of the turkey barns had exploded. I did,too. My husband told me from the kitchen that it was an earthquake. What I remember is a loud crack and THEN everything shook. Glad you are OK. Little Sis- I really felt comforted by your prayers about my deep concern for a fellow mish. He is still holding his own, but will be in rehab for a long while. Love-hugs and prayers- Big Sis

     

Leave a Reply

 
