RSS

Lemonade is sweet, but….

12 Jul

God’s love is sweeter.   That was the theme this week of a group of 3 – 5 year olds from Columbia, South Carolina.  What does that have to do with us in Costa Rica?  Well, a friend of mine from high school, Ashley Lindler, messaged me on facebook a couple of weeks ago to ask if I could share over Skype with her group of 3 – 5 year olds from Columbia First Baptist summer camp.  I, of course, was happy to do that.  With the time difference of 2 hours between here and South Carolina, I would be able to speak with them at 7:30 here and miss just a few minutes of my first class.  Easy peasy!  They were just adorable!  Well, earlier in the week I had seen on facebook where Ashley had posted pictures of her children holding a lemonade stand with a sign that said, “Lemonade is sweet, but God’s love is even sweeter!”  How cute is that?  When I mentioned to them over Skype that I saw the pictures they told me that they were doing it to raise money for us!!  I was so shocked!  I started crying!  I think it is so amazing that these little ones were working so hard for missions here in Costa Rica!  They ended up doing 3 lemonade stands and raised a total of $277.46!!  Can you believe that?  These were 3, 4 and 5 year olds and they are making a difference for Christ at such an early age.  Their efforts will benefit missions in Costa Rica and the children that we are serving here!  That is why I think it brought me to tears….these little ones already working for the furthering of God’s kingdom and look what they did!!  So amazing!  What amazing lessons these little ones are learning and teaching!  Such a fabulous way to be spending their summer vacations.  I love the idea of getting kids and families involved in missions.  This has truly blessed me and my family.  And I am thinking that they may even inspire some of the readers of this blog….what do you think?

Here are some pictures of these cuties!!  Thank you guys so much!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 12, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Lemonade is sweet, but….

  1. Kirsten Nelson

    July 26, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Wow, Courtney! What a great testament of how God can use even little children to spread His good news.

     

Leave a Reply

 
