RSS

Update and Prayer Requests

13 Jan

I know that we have not posted in a while and I am I am sorry for that.  I want to update everyone on what has been going on.  Back in October I (Courtenay) began to have pain in my left hand, wrist and shoulder.  Thinking I had slept on it wrong I ignored it.  It continued.  Once we returned to Costa Rica it quickly escalated.  I went to see our family doctor in December and he referred me the next day to a rheumatologist.  I was receiving wonderful medical care in Costa Rica and was happy with my doctors, but was not finding the cause of my problems.  So, on this past Saturday it was decided that I should fly back to SC and have testing done at MUSC.  I flew back on Sunday leaving Jacob and the kids in CR (a decision that was very difficult).  On Monday I saw the head of research for rheumatology and immunology at MUSC.  I immediately had an ECHO done and a ton of blood work.  We are still waiting on much of the results.  One thing that stood out was that my cpk was over 1000 and the normal is 200 or lower.  That apparently explains why my muscles have been so weak and hurting.  Today, hopefully I am going to have a MRI of my thigh muscles and at CT of my lungs.  Depending on the results of the MRI, they may do a biopsy.  The doctor is saying that this could still be a result of a virus, but being that it is pushing 7 weeks of pain, we are nearing the end of time for that.  He has tested for Parvo, Lyme, mono, and many other things, but we don’t have all the results.

Please continue to pray for not only my health, but Jacob and the kids in CR.  Jacob is facing not only doing his job, but all of mine (including homeschooling) and Satan just seems to be throwing things at them left and right.  Two nights ago one of our gates broke and he had to fix it.  Then that night Jacob woke up at 2am to find the kitchen flooded.  And last night our only means of communication, our Mac computer, dropped and the screen cracked.  He could seem my sister Monica’s name on the Skype, so he was able to contact her, but not us and therefore, we have no means of communication.  This is obviously making this time of separation even more difficult.

Please also pray especially for the village of Cot, CR.  We are in need of a place to hold services.  Fransisco is currently staying at our house.  He is welcome to stay as long as he needs, but without a home in Cot, there is also no place to have church services or Bible studies.  Also, on our way to the airport on Sunday, we ran into a wreck on the autopista (Pan-American highway) where a bus had flipped.  Jacob heard that 25 people died in that wreck.  Not to mention injuries.

We must all realize that when we step out to battle Satan that our most powerful weapon against him is prayer.  So we are calling on that.  The area of Costa Rica where we are working is a stronghold of Satan’s and at one point a tica (Costa Rican friend) said to me, “Wow, you guys are going to attack the heart of the dragon here in Costa Rica by going to Irazu and Cartago to minister.”  So please not only remember us in your prayers, but also the Ticos.  This is a matter of eternal salvation.  They need God’s grace and salvation through the finished work of Christ.  We are bringing them that message and Satan wants to stop us.  But we are not going to let him.  We are going to persevere and we are going to continue to do the work of our Heavenly Father.

I will keep you updated on all of these situations as we know more.  Thank you so much for partnering with us and bathing us in your prayers.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Update and Prayer Requests

  1. Danny Frederiks

    January 16, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    DarLynne and I pray for you every morning and I miss my evangelism partner Jacob ! We are with you, depending on His GRACE. Here is a verse to chew on: “We have come to know and to rely on the love that God has for us” 1 John 4
    Pray for our talking to latinos on the street in Paterson…pray for Jose, Gender, Victor, y Valente y mas oportunidades de compartir las buenas nuevas de la gracia de Dios sin nuestros propios esfuerzos. El es digno y tiene la capacidad de hacer todo en Su propio tiempo. We are with you and at the same time we miss you so much, Danny

     
  2. Kathy Elrod

    January 18, 2010 at 2:28 am

    Courtenay, I continue to pray for you, Jacob, the kids, Francisco, the church at Cot, and the Ticos! Just know that we are praying, and we already know WHO is in charge and WHO holds you in the palm of HIS big hand! Please let us know what you find out from the test results! Love you guys very much!

     

Leave a Reply

 
