RSS

Update #2

19 Jan

First of all, all praise, glory and honor go to our Lord and Savior who suffered for all of His children on the cross of Calvary to pay for our sins. He endured more than I could ever imagine. When I (Courtenay) think of what I am going through, I know that it could not even compare to that. I do just want to share with everyone where we are with my diagnosis.

First of all, I am invigorated everyday by God’s grace alone. I never thought that I would ever survive being separated from Jacob and my babies like this. And each day I make it. And not only do I make it, but I am not experiencing any type of constant sadness or loss over the time apart. Don’t get me wrong, I do miss them, but it is so energizing to feel God sustaining me and holding me during all of this. He is also doing the same for Jacob and the kids in Costa Rica. All praise, glory and honor to Him, because this would be impossible for our family without Him.

Second, as many of you already know, I flew in Sunday January 10th and the next day I was able to see the best of the best at MUSC. We began blood work and other testing that day. Results began to come in to point us in one direction. On Friday, I had a CT of my lungs and a MRI of my thigh muscles. As far as I know at this point (I have an appointment in the morning Wed.) they are continuing to point in the same direction. So we are making progress, but still do not have a diagnosis. I am taking a pretty heavy dose of steroids daily and that is keeping much of my daily pain at a manageable point. Praising the Lord for that 🙂

Third, the doctors, my family and our home church agree that after Jacob helps the teams that are due to come in to Costa Rica in the next 3 weeks, he and the kids are going to fly back to SC. Again, a very tough decision, but on prayerfully made. Our desire is to be together as a family while we focus on getting me back to health. Our ultimate goal is to return to Costa Rica to love on the people there, bring them the message of God’s grace, love and forgiveness and serve them as quickly as possible. This is not going to deter us. We will not give in that easily!!!!

How can you help? Please continue to pray for us and the people of Costa Rica. We desire to serve our Lord and Savior there and have full confidence that we will return as quickly as possible. Please pray for our finances as well. My last minute flight was paid for by my parents. However, we are having to meet our deductible ($1500) and pay for Jacob and the kids to fly back ($1336). These are unexpected expenses. If you or anyone you know would like to donate towards these expenses you can either mail a check to Global Outreach International PO Box 1 Tupelo MS 38802 with our name on it. Or you can donate online at http://www.globaloutreach.org and follow the prompts. Just donate to Jacob Folk – Costa Rica.

We are really in awe of the loving responses of encouragement and prayer that we are receiving. It has truly made all of the difference. We will continue to keep everyone up to date as things continue to progress.

Love,
Court

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Update #2

  1. David and Glynis

    January 19, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Continuing to pray for you all during these difficult and lonely days. May you all find your rest in Him alone.

     
  2. angie hinson phillips

    January 23, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Hey Court you and your family are in my prayers,,and as a nurse I think MUSC is great and was a good decision for explore all your treatment options,,I know you miss your family but you must take of you too,,,best wishes,, Love Angie

     

Leave a Reply

 
