RSS

Update and Specific Prayer Requests

16 Feb

Thank you guys for all of your prayers.  It has been 5 1/2 weeks since I arrived in Charleston, SC and we have made such progress.  All praise, glory and honor or our Heavenly Father who is always faithful.  Jacob and the kids are flying into Myrtle Beach tomorrow, so please pray for them as they finish preparing and fly.

As for my health, such progress is being made.  My blood work that was done yesterday showed that my cpk is down, still not to the normal range – but we are getting there.  That is a huge deal.  It is showing that the medicine is working and we are praising the Lord for that 🙂  So please continue to pray for my cpk to continue to come down.  Once it gets below 190 we will be able to start to come off of the predinsone and that will be wonderful.  Some of you may remember my pregnancy with Sophia and the heart rate problems that I had.  For those of you that don’t know about that – I had a very high resting heart rate and it was such a problem that I had to stop teaching at North Greenville University and stay resting from 18 weeks of pregnancy until full term.  I ended up getting my tubes tided after much prayer because we did not feel that my body could physically handle another pregnancy like that.  Well, for some time now, I have started having problems again and I did not tell anyone.  In light of everything else going on, Dr. Gilkeson and I decided we needed to go ahead and make sure everything was ok.  So yesterday I saw Dr. Marian Taylor a cardiologist here at MUSC.  She was absolutely wonderful.  I was not feeling well at all going into the appointment – I almost passed out in the waiting room.  However, I had been praying that whatever she needed to see, that God would show her.  So she has decided that I should wear a heart monitor.  She says that if we can see what we need to see in the next couple of days, I will not have to wear it very long, but if not, then I may need to wear it up to 3 or 4 weeks.  So my prayer is that God would show her what she needs to see quickly so that I don’t have to wear it very long.  So I ask that you join me in prayer over these things. There is a fine line of knowing what is side effects of medicine, what is polymyositis looking like in my body right now, and what may be a side issue heart condition, so please join us in prayer over this.

I am so excited about Jacob and the kids arriving tomorrow.  I am praying that it will give me just the boost that I need to even be below 190 on my cpk even next week – hey, it may be a long shot, but all things are possible with God.  And I know that He is healing me and helping reveal all things that need to be worked on and considered during this time.  I am praising the Lord and thanking Him daily for this because He is changing me and drawing me even closer to Him each day.  He is so good and I can already see so much good coming from this.  I thank you all for your prayers and encouragement.  Please keep them up.  I will keep you posted!!!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Update and Specific Prayer Requests

  1. Dale McCoig

    February 16, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    THANKS FOR THE UPDATE COURTENAY! I am thankful that your family is finally going to be together. And I am thankful to hear that your treatments are bringing positive steps in recovery. Please remember that my family, and the Glenwood Baptist family, continue to lift you up in prayer. If we can do anything more to help, please let me know.
    Dale McCoig
    ROMANS 15:13

     
    • courtenayfolk

      February 16, 2010 at 9:57 pm

      Thank you so much. You guys are so special to us!!

       
  2. Greg Rumsey

    February 16, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Thanks for the update. We are praying for you. No doubt it will be wonderful to see Jacob and the kids.

    Greg and Courntey

     
    • courtenayfolk

      February 16, 2010 at 11:28 pm

      I AM SOOOO EXCITED TO SEE THEM!! Thank you for your prayers.

       
  3. Connie Styles

    February 16, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Hey Court – So grateful that God is working so quickly in your situation. HE is faithful! Enjoy time with Jacob and the babies. Gary and I will be praying for the heart situation. I know God has a plan in all of this. Thanks for being so upbeat and positive. It helps us all. We love you very much. You take care and God Bless!

     
  4. Rockie Lollar

    February 17, 2010 at 4:23 am

    So thankful Jacob and your precious little ones will be with you now. We are praying especially for the heart stuff. We love you and know that God is working all of this out for your good, even though at times it is difficult to see just how. May He especially bless you with His peace and comfort during this difficult time. Keep us posted and thanks for the update. Much love from the Lollar’s.

     
    • courtenayfolk

      February 17, 2010 at 6:47 am

      Thank you Rockie and Bubba!! You guys are so precious to us!! You are certainly proper friends 🙂 Like that? That was my attempt at sounding British! They seem to like the word proper!! 🙂 Love you guys!!

       
  5. kristee hall

    March 2, 2010 at 9:16 am

    i’m just getting back on the computer after a while and am sooo sorry to hear of your struggles- we will definitely be praying, we love and miss you guys – give everyone a hug for us and we’ll keep checking for your progress

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 3, 2010 at 1:17 pm

      Thank you Kristee! Miss you too 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
