RSS

Update 3/2/2010

02 Mar

Today we have lots to be thankful for.  God is so good and faithful and is continuing to guide us and little by little bring healing to my body.  My mom and dad gave me a bookmark with a verse on it that sums up my heart right now –

“A joyful heart is good medicine.” Proverbs 17:22” 
 
And I have many things right now that are making my heart joyful.  First of all, Jacob and the kids arrived safely and we are all so happy to be together.  When they arrived, Sophia and Benjamin had to go to the pediatrician here because Sophia had a rash and Benja had an ear infection, but they are now doing great.  Jacob is continuing to have to do homeschooling for the three of them, but we have been able to add going to the county park for them to ride bikes as PE and of course Benja is playing golf!!  We also all went to the aquarium on Saturday with Jacob’s parents – little added science lesson!  I was able to make it with the help of my wheelchair.  So everyone is settling into a routine here at my parents’ house.  🙂
 
As far as my health progress goes….we are still working on getting my cpk and aldolase down into normal range.  We have made progress, but I am still not where I need to be, so I am still having discomfort.  I am able to walk now though, all be it slowly, and if it is going to be a large amount of walking, like when we went to the aquarium, I have to use a wheelchair.  I have been able to get to our target amount of the immune suppressant and I have begun to successfully come down some on my dose of prednisone.    I will meet again with Dr. Gilkeson next Wed 3.10.10 to decide if we are going to need to add another medication.  I am still wearing the heart monitor and do not have any news to report on that.  I am praying everyday that I will get a phone call from my cardiologist and that she will tell me that I can take it off and we can know what the issues are with my heart, but so far, I am still waiting.  Today, I had to go to GYN for an extensive check to make sure that ovarian or breast cancer is not what triggered the gene in my body that caused this disease to come to life in my body.  We may not ever know the environmental trigger that caused it, but we need to make sure that it was not one of these types of cancers.  And in women with this, these types of cancers are common triggers.  Tomorrow, Wed. 3.3.10, I will have a mammogram and then on the 16th I will have ultrasound of my ovaries and then on that same day I will meet back with my new GYN here and discuss if we need to do any more checking or testing.  Next week on 3.9.10 I will go to physical therapy for the first time for stretching and massage.  I will not be able to work on regaining any strength until we get all of this under control, but we are hoping this will help me be more comfortable and in less pain. 
 
Specific ways to pray
1.  That my cpk and aldolase would come back into normal range.
2.  That my cardiologist would get to see what she needs to see from this heart monitor so that we can make decisions regarding my heart health.
3.  That all cancer tests would come back negative, but if there is something there that we need to be aware of, that God would reveal it in the testing that we are doing so that it can be addressed.
4.  That physical therapy would bring me some relief and that I would continue to heal and get stronger day by day.
5.  That everywhere we go we would continue to share God’s light, love, grace and shine for Him. 
 
I know that God is using this time here in Charleston for His glory.  I have seen Him make changes in me and I feel closer to Him now than I have ever been.  I have watched Him work and move in situations where only He could be responsible for the things that are going on around us.  I can only be thankful for this situation and pray that I would bring Him glory through each stage of this.  I thank you all for your prayers and encouragement.  They are so special to us and make all the difference.  We need them and ask that you continue to pray for us.  
 
To God Be the GloryText: Fanny J. Crosby (1820-1915)

To God be the glory, great things He hathdone;
So loved He the world that He gave us His Son,
Who yielded His life, an atonement for sin,
And opened the lifegate, that all may go in.

O perfect redemption, the purchase of blood,
To every believer, the promise of God;
The vilest offender who truly believes,
That moment from Jesus a pardon receives.

Great things He hath taught us, great things He hath done,
And great our rejoicing through Jesus the Son;
But purer, and higher, and greater will be
Our wonder, our transport, when Jesus we see!

Refrain:
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord,
Let the earth hear His voice!
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord,
Let the people rejoice!
O come to the Father, through Jesus the Son,
And give Him the glory, great things He hath done!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Update 3/2/2010

  1. Esther Miller

    March 2, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    We continue to pray for you during this time of uncertainty. Much love to you all.

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 3, 2010 at 12:00 am

      Thank you Esther! We are praying for you guys in Chile as well!!

       
  2. Brandi Coco (MacCue)

    March 2, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    I have been staying updated on your progress and though I am very sad to have heard of your recent struggle. I am confident that God will answer all of our prayers for you. As an old high school friend I could never imagine that I would have to hear of such a wonderful person face such a difficult disease. I wish I could just hold your hand and pray with you. Know my family extends our love and support to you and your family. With much love, I pray for you.

    My Sincere Love,
    Brandi Coco (MacCue)

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 3, 2010 at 12:01 am

      Thank you so much Brandi. That really is special to me. God is so good. Love, Court

       
  3. Rockie Lollar

    March 3, 2010 at 7:44 am

    Hi, Court! Please know that we are praying for you guys. God is really working through you, which is evident by all of the fiery darts the enemy is throwing at you! Hang in there! Stand firm and be strong. We are claiming your healing in Jesus’ name! We are claiming your deliverance in Christ through these trials. HE IS ABLE! We love you, and are thankful and praising Him for the privilege to stand with you in this battle as your brother and sister in Christ Jesus. Believing Him, Rockie

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 3, 2010 at 1:17 pm

      Thanks Rockie! 🙂

       
  4. Dale McCoig

    March 3, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Thanks for keeping us updated Courtenay. It was so good to “see” you and Jacob last week! I shared Sunday with the Glenwood BC family about that blessing. Please know that my family and I, along with the GBC family, continue to pray for you.

    In Christ’s Love,
    Dale

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 3, 2010 at 1:19 pm

      It was wonderful seeing everyone too! GBC has become like another church family to us! Thank you for that and for your prayers!! You are a blessing to us! Court

       
  5. Tamara

    March 3, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Hey Courtenay, we have been and will continue to pray for you and your family during this time. Thank you so much for your encouraging heart and live for our Lord! You are such a blessing to me! I love you and please let me know if there is anything I can do!
    Love,
    Tamara

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 3, 2010 at 1:21 pm

      Hi Tamara!!! My heart is only God’s grace shining through! He is doing it all! Without Him, this would be very different! He is vital – my lifeline – and He is proving to be everything and more to us during all of this. I have full confidence that He will continue as well!! Love you!! Court

       
  6. johnny

    March 3, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Praying for you guys! Keep looking to Jesus the author and finisher of our faith Hebrews 12:2~

    Give the kids a hug for me, and each other, and Mom and Dad! Have a great week!

    BJ

     
  7. Alison Truesdale

    March 3, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Courtenay,
    I am just learning of all this with your health and I am so sorry you are going through this. You are so right, God, is in control and I know you will be feeling better soon. You and your family….are all in my thoughts and prayers!!!!! Your faith through this is just amazing!! If there is anything I can do other than praying please don’t hesitate to let me know. I would love to see you …are you still in Charleston?

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 3, 2010 at 7:13 pm

      We are here in Charleston. I am going to MUSC seems like a couple of times a week for something, so we will be here for our time here until we can return to Costa Rica! My parents live on Johns Island, so we are just living with them 🙂 It was has been wonderful. Huge blessing.

       
  8. Connie Styles

    March 3, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    We continue to lift you up to our Father. We love you and will pray specifically for the requests you have made. You are such a blessing to us. You and your family are constantly in our thoughts. Enjoy your time in Charleston and give our best to your mom and dad. We love you very much!

     
  9. Tracey Dixon

    March 5, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    We are praying for you guys–so glad doctors are finding answers and treatments, praying that continues at a good pace. Also praying for your kids specifically; praying against fear and that the Lord would buffer them from the stress of all this and cover them with his peace–may they, too, grow closer to him through all of this!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
