RSS

Update 3/10/10

10 Mar

Ok.  So yesterday I had my first session of physical therapy.  Dr. Gilkeson had ordered stretching and massage.  And let me tell you, I thought I was going to especially love the massage and was looking forward to the appointment.  However, it actually turned out to be a difficult appointment.  First of all, it pointed out to me how much my muscles have been affected and how far God is going to have to bring me in order to get me back to where I hope my recovery will be.  Also, we tried to do a little massage.  I never thought that I would say this, but I did not like the massage and do not want to have that in the future!!!  After that appointment I decided that I was going to stay focused on God and His timing and His power to heal my body.  I was not going to worry about tomorrow and what it brings (or in this case does not bring) and I was going to let it worry about itself.  But honestly, it was a hard day.

Today we knew was going to be a big day.  We had kind of stalled in bringing my cpk down with the past three weeks and today, we knew we were going to have blood work done this morning and then have my doctor’s appointment with Dr. Gilkeson to see if we were going to have to add more medication to get my cpk coming down again.  The new medication we were discussing was one that would have to be injected, so I really was not wanting to add this new medication and we were going to discuss our timeline again as far as me returning to Costa Rica.  I had told Jacob that I was going to consider it a miracle if I actually did not have to add the new medication.  Well, we went in and when Dr. Gilkeson looked at his computer, he turned it to me and said, your cpk is in normal range!!!!!  I could not believe it!!!  Normal is anything below 190 and mine was 186!!!  I was in shock!  Jacob and I sat there and could not believe it!!  We had prepared ourselves to face hearing the worst and we instead heard way better news than we could have ever imagine!!  🙂

So what does that mean?  Well, first of all, I am going to be able to come down again on the prednisone some more.  We will be stepping down 10mg every 2 weeks.  It also means that I do not have to add another medicine.  The prednisone is helping the immune system suppressant that I am taking bring down and keep down my cpk, so no new medicine and slowly come off of the prednisone.  I will probably be on the immune suppressant for the next 2 years or so depending on how I do.  Dr. Gilkeson says that I may have flair ups in the future, but I should not get into this state again!!!  Praise the Lord!!  Also as far as the physical therapy goes, not only now can I do stretches, but I already have permission from Dr. Gilkeson to start working on getting stronger already!!  That is so exciting to me!  I go back to physical therapy tomorrow!!!  So we will start then!  Dr. Gilkeson says that I may continue to still feel sore and pain, but that should be getting better soon!!

What about returning to Costa Rica?  Well, Jacob and this kids’ flights are scheduled for March 24th.  We have been praying about it and with the news today, Jacob and I are in agreement that they should go ahead and return to Costa Rica.  Dr. Gilkeson wants to get my medication fully under control which, should everything continue the way that he thinks, I should be able to return by the beginning of May.  That would have us separated about the same amount of time as we were before.  In God’s providence I was reading last night about Nate Saint.  In the part that I was reading he and his wife were separated for months at a time and at one point she had their baby daughter!!  Us being separated for a little bit of time puts us in the company of some pretty impressive people.  Not to mention all of our troops that go serve our country.  They are separated for the benefit of us all from their family and they survive.  We will be separated for a much shorter amount of time for the long-term benefit of my health and for the people of the Irazu Volcano!!  I am praising the Lord for such a wonderful day.  For Him supplying the results that I needed to help us make some big decisions and for Him to be giving me the grace that I need constantly to face this disease.  All I can say is that He is so good, all the time!!!  He wove me together in my mother’s womb and He knows exactly how this disease is working in my body and exactly how and when to fix it for His glory!!  And today was all about His glory because He worked out what I consider a miracle today!!  And I honestly am still in shock and awe of Him!!  Again, “To God be the glory for the things He has done!”  “Shout to the Lord all the earth let us sing!!  Power and majesty praise to the King!”

Please continue to pray for us and my continued healing and I will continue to keep you up to date!

Court

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Update 3/10/10

  1. Kelly & Trisha Lawrence

    March 10, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Praise God for answered prayers! You were prayed for by some mighty prayer warriors in chapel last week during Spiritual Emphasis Week. Another student also rec’d good news this week regarding her medical condition. God is SO GOOD! There are so many students that are being attacked physically.

     
  2. Roberta Sadler

    March 10, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Courtney,
    That is awesome news. I am still waiting for my biopsy. God will provide for you in his time the next step of healing. That is so hard to wait for when we are use to doing things for ourselves. Continue to fight for strength as God has big plans for you & your family.

     
  3. Beverly Timmons

    March 10, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Courtenay – We are praising God with you..and are so thankful that you are getting well! and your faith is a true witness Courtenay..God will use your witness in this. lots of love Mrs. T

     
  4. Jane Bergeron

    March 10, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Courtenay, you are a faithful servant and God certainly is taking care of you. Hope all continues to go well for you and the family. Take care and God be with you always and forever.

     
  5. Tommy Hood

    March 10, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    Great news!

     
  6. Rockie Lollar

    March 11, 2010 at 6:01 am

    Praise God!!! We will be praying for you guys as you work on strengthening and returning to Costa Rica and as you guys face a bit of separation once again. You are such an encouragement, light and testament of God’s power and glory, Courtenay. We will be especially praying for you also as you decrease meds and such. Thank you for being such a beautiful light in the darkness! We love you and can’t wait to see all that God is going to do through you! Must be some pretty big stuff considering how the enemy is really working hard to distract and stop your progress there! PRESS ON, SISTER!!! Rockie

     
  7. lynn hatcher

    March 11, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Courtney, it is great to hear your news of improved health!!! I have been thinking and praying for you and I hope the Lord continues to strenghthen you so u can continue doing what God called u to do!!!!!!!!! You have been a blessing to me just reading your progress.. Keep us posted on how ure doing !!!!!!!!!

     
  8. Lisa Shorter

    March 11, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    That is God working and prayers answered! Keep on believing! His grace is sufficient. Thank you for your inspiration to us!

     
  9. angie hinson phillips

    March 11, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Hey Court glad to hear you got some good news,, I admire your strength and faith,,,How awesome is our God!!!! Take Care

     
  10. kristee

    March 13, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    This is such good news- We are so happy for all of you, you are so right,Courtenay. God really is good – all the time. We will keep praying, we love you guys! Go with God.

     
  11. Dale McCoig

    March 15, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    EPHESIANS 3:20-21!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
