RSS

Update 3/23/10

23 Mar

Well, today I had a great workout in physical therapy!  We worked for 45 minutes instead of 30 and I ended with icing my back and neck!!!  Great progress is being made!  I am waddling less and less each day!  Yesterday I walked to a neighbor’s house while the kids rode their bicycles around me in circles to slow their progress to my speed, but I made it!  It was quite the accomplishment.  Praising the Lord for that!!

Medically, I have been coming down on the prednisone.  Two weeks ago I switched from 40mg/day to 30mg/day.  This is a hard process and it was very painful.  I have found that mornings are very difficult, but by mid afternoon, I am able to get around a lot better.  It took me probably a week and a half to get used to this new dose and within the last couple of days, I have been doing better, but still struggling each morning.  Tomorrow I will go down again on my dosing.  I am going to 20mg/day.  I am a bit nervous about the change, knowing that it is going to be difficult, but I will make it through it!!  As Dr. Carter told me last week, “Courtenay, you are what we call here a Steele Magnolia!”  LOL!!  I am assuming that is a compliment.  I am tough and I will make it!  God has given me great strength and motivation to heal and get better and to put up with a lot of pain.  So again, I give Him all the glory for my ability to have a high pain tolerance and the almost stubbornness to fight this disease and get better!!  I have another appointment with the great Dr. Gilkeson next Wed. and we will be re checking my cpk levels, so hopefully they will still be fine and in normal range on the new level of prednisone.  I have been able to take the heart monitor off.  I have not gotten a report or seen the cardiologist about the results yet.  I have an appointment April 8 with her to discuss the results.

Also tomorrow, Jacob and the kids will fly back to Costa Rica.  We are praying that I will only be about 6 weeks or so behind them!!  Jacob will be focusing on homeschooling the kids, finding our future home (we are praying that God would go ahead and reveal to us a place we can stay in long term because we are ready to settle down.  We have moved so much in the last couple of years and we are ready to find “the place” for us in Costa Rica), and the Bible studies that he began before he came to SC up in Cipreses. 

Ways that you can pray specifically,

1.  That the Lord would give me the endurance to face the pain associated with coming down on the prednisone and the healing/rebuilding of my muscles in physical therapy. 

2.  That He would grant me grace in the mornings as this is the hardest part of my days.

3.  For Jacob and the kids.  Their safety.  Jacob having to do my job and his.  Small things like grocery shopping and cooking for me are easy and enjoyable, are harder for him.  Us all missing each other.

4.  Our future house.  That the Lord would give us a place with fresh flowing air (this is crucial because of the interstitial lung disease).  On a property that can be used long term with teams and our future ministry so that we can finally settle down after moving 4 times in the last 2 years.

5.  That we would continue to shine God’s light where ever He places us.  Here in Charleston and in Costa Rica we are His rays of light that need to share hope and grace with the people around us 🙂

6.  My heart really goes out to other people that have polymyositis or dermatomyositis.  Before me having this disease, I had not heard of it and now that I know about it and am facing this battle myself, I am asking you to pray not only for me, but for the others that are out there battling this battle.  One in particular is Aidan McKenzie.  He has been in this battle for 17 years.  Please pray for those facing this besides me.

7.  That God would use this disease in me for His glory!!

Thank you all.  I will continue to keep you all posted!!  We need and appreciate all of your prayers!!

This is one of my favorite songs!!  We sang this song at our commissioning service!!  This is our desire!  Enjoy!  “This is my Desire”  by Jeremy Camp

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04wLNGk8xxg

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Update 3/23/10

  1. Dale McCoig

    March 23, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    “But as for me, I shall sing of Your strength; Yes, I SHALL JOYFULLY SING OF YOUR LOVINGKINDNESS IN THE MORNING, For You have been my stronghold And a refuge in the day of my distress. O my strength, I will sing praises to You; For God is my stronghold, the God who shows me lovingkindness.” – PSALM 59:16-17

    You are in our prayers daily!

    In Christ’s Love,
    Dale

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 23, 2010 at 2:45 pm

      What fantastic encouragement from God’s Word! Thank you Dale! Pass our love on to GBC!! We truly appreciate your friendship and prayers!!

       
  2. Rudolph Fulgham

    March 23, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    ‘I know your deeds. Behold, I have put before you an open door which no one can shut, because you have a little power, and have kept My word, and have not denied My name.’ Rev 3:8

    I know God has the door to Costa Rica open for you and your family, I look forward to the day he will lead you thru it again

    Rudy

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 23, 2010 at 3:03 pm

      Thank you Rudy! We look forward to that day too 🙂 What a glorious day it will be!!

       
  3. Robin Willis

    March 23, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    You and Jacob and the kids will be in our prayers tomorrow especially. I pray everyday that you will regain your strength and that your body will be healed.
    I love This is My Desire too!! That is Jeremy’s Wife Adie singing with him. They are coming to the E Women’s conf in April at the Bilo Center. He is my favorite singer and such a powerful song.
    God Bless you and please let us know if you need anything.
    Robin

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 23, 2010 at 9:50 pm

      Thank you Robin! I love Jeremy Camp too!! The live album that My Desire is on is awesome! His wife sings with him on there!! I would love to see them!! You, your family and your church are such a blessing to our family!! Thank you so much! Love, Court

       
  4. jacquirocks

    March 31, 2010 at 8:36 am

    I am another person diagnosed with dematomyositis/polymyositis. Excercise does help, I was in remission for a year but it came back. I am trying to manage it without the steoids. My CPK readings have not increased but are same. All the best to you.

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 31, 2010 at 9:42 am

      Thank you so much for the encouragement. You are in my prayers as well. God bless.

       
  5. Sandra M.

    March 31, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    I just re-discovered your blog today. I’d say it was “by chance,” but I believe God even directs my mouse-clicking! 🙂

    It’s been almost 4 months since we left C.R. after language school and nearly 3 since we landed in Quito, and I finally went back to the ILE Students’ Page and checked out the blogs linked to there…

    And I thought, “The Folks, what nice people… I wonder what they’re up to?” So I clicked.

    WOW.

    What a tough road you’ve traveled since we last saw you. I’ll be praying for you today, especially that the time your family is spending apart will be as short as possible, and that you’ll be able to spend these ‘kid-free’ days–as some people might call them–not in longing to be with them (though tears are welling up just thinking of being in your situation) but instead focusing on your relationship with our Father. (…now the tears are falling…)

    I also pray that God will heal your body to a point where you are able to work and play, worship and minister like you were able to in the past.

    Much love,
    Sandra

     
    • courtenayfolk

      March 31, 2010 at 6:31 pm

      Thank you so much Sandra!! What a blessing to have you praying for me! I really appreciate it. Please continue. Love, Court

       
  6. Esther Miller

    March 31, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    You guys have faced a lot of challenges since we left ILE! We’re so thankful for the progress you are making and the good care the doctors have given you. We will pray for all of you during this period of separation. We totally understand your desire to find the right house and settle in. Praying that you’ll find it pronto!

    Esther

     

Leave a Reply

 
