RSS

Cleared for blast off!

14 May

Well, for the last month or so, each appointment with Dr. Gilkeson has been around what he termed “blast off!”  Unfortunately, we kept thinking it was nearer than it was and things just kept happening to push it back little by little.  Well, last week, when I thought I was going to hear that I was cleared for blast off, I showed up to the appointment in pain and we had to postpone the decision.  So I had blood work on Monday to determine how things might go from here and we discovered that the prednisone had caused me to develop diabetes.  After getting over the shock Monday night that I was now facing another issue along with a great explanation by Dr. Gilkeson, I was back to fighting mode and ready to do battle with now – dermatomyositis, interstitial lung disease, prednisone in general and now diabetes.  Long list, but you know what, I feel so blessed that we now know what I am up against.  And we are well on our way in our battle against these diseases!  Dr. Gilkeson’s ability to keep me and all of my problems straight seems to me to be a miracle and points to the fact that God has blessed me with the most awesome doctor who is just an amazing asset to MUSC, the immunology community, his community, the body of Christ and to me!  🙂  I thank you Dr. Gilkeson from the bottom of my heart.  You have made this process go as smoothly as it could possibly go under these circumstances and you have put up with innumerable e-mails and questions from me.  You truly are amazing!

Well, I guess I should get back to the point of this blog…..Dr. Gilkeson has officially cleared me for blast off and handed me my papers to book my flight back to my Jacob and my babies and my Ticos!!  Ok, so they aren’t my Ticos, but I love them like they are my Ticos!  🙂  So we are rejoicing today!!  I am hoping to return on Wed. but I still need to book the flight!  Please pray that they can work me and my mom onto a flight next week, hopefully Wed.  Love to all!!  Rejoicing with you all!!  And appreciate all of your prayers!!  This battle is not over, in fact it has probably just begun, but we are now able to move on with this new normal for our family, as a family, together in Costa Rica!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Here are  great songs to worship and celebrate with!!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Cleared for blast off!

  1. Dale McCoig

    May 15, 2010 at 9:26 am

    PRAISING OUR LORD WITH YOU COURTENAY!!!

     
    • courtenayfolk

      May 15, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      Praises all around!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 God is so good!!!

       
  2. Joanna

    May 15, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Courtanay – i am SO excited for you…for your family and for your Ticos!

     
    • courtenayfolk

      May 15, 2010 at 12:23 pm

      🙂 Thanks!!! Me too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

       
  3. Danny Frederiks

    May 16, 2010 at 1:35 am

    Our feet never touch the floor in the wee hours of the morning without praying for you guys and all our dear friends around the world who are praising God for His GRACE in letting us see Him at work through His GLORIOUS Gospel worked out in our lives as The Great Shepherd reaches the Lost sheep with dear people like Jacob and Courtenay and Benjamin, Lizzie and Sophie in the yoke next to Him ! What a Savior ! So grateful that the Lord Jesus made us all Family… We are excited for the Ticos that await your return ! I cannot wait to laugh and work with Jacob in Costa Rica this summer. Thanks so much for the chance to pitch in and help out as a translator…. Los Federicos are excited and praying ! Tell your Mom we are praying especially for her as she travels with you on this journey too. Bendiciones to you and Jacob… Danny Frederiks

     
    • courtenayfolk

      May 16, 2010 at 9:54 pm

      Gracias a Los Fredericos para sus oraciones y su amistad. Les queremos! Estamos muy emocionado sobre su viaje a Costa Rica para visitarnos. Diga a su familia que vamos a tener un buen tiempo juntos para la gloria a Dios!! OK, mi mente esta cansado de hablando en Espanol. Pero estoy feliz que puedo decir tanto. Nos vemos mis amigos 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
